Where I Am & Where I Want To Be

CURRENT MEASUREMENTS

WEIGHT: 204 lbs [the first time I published this post, I accidentally typed 194…I wish!!!]

WAIST: 39 in.

GUT: 43 in.

 

GOALS

WEIGHT: 175 lbs

WAIST: 32 in.

GUT: ??

 

According to multiple online fitness calculators, I am currently considered obese. Hitting my goal of 175 lbs would take me safely out of that category, but not quite out of the “overweight” category. Honestly, I just want to look and feel better. I’m at that point where I can “feel” the weight gain – I never feel quite right, and I’m always tired and sluggish. So, feeling well on a daily basis is definitely the end goal here.

Three years ago, I had gotten pretty serious about exercising and eating right, and I did indeed hit that 175 mark, and was able to maintain it for about 6 months. That was the best I have felt in my life, and I want to be there again and maintain it for the long-term this time.

I’d be lying if I told you I didn’t want to look good, too. Right now, I feel like I always look sloppy. I’m currently wearing XL shirts and L underwear. My pants range from 34-38, depending how they’re cut. Back when I had lost weight 3 years ago, I was wearing L T-shirts (nearly to the point of being able to wear M), M or L dress shirts and polo shirts, M underwear, and 32-34 pants. So right now, I have a closet full of clothes that I can’t wear. I’d like to not only fit in them again, but look great in (and out of) them, as well.

As for the “waist” and “gut” measurements above, waist is where my pants sit, gut is around the stomach, right above the belly button. I didn’t list a goal for the gut, I just know I have a long way to go. I guess it should be about the same as the waist goal, though, so let’s go with that.

Well, I definitely have my work cut out for me, but I know it is possible. I just need to stop making excuses and do the work!

 

2 thoughts on “Where I Am & Where I Want To Be

  1. I went through the same dilemma as last year I was able to get down to 168 lbs but over the winter I gave up the workout and learned how to eat donuts again. This year I have set up a year long program where I am accountable for my actions each day on my blog. My problem is that I am very goal oriented and the problem with goals is that once we reach the point we are trying to reach we think it’s over. I have come to realize that my ultimate goal is to create a new lifestyle. A lifestyle where working out and eating right is a lifetime journey. I also suffer from Type II Diabetes and this is the fuel behind the fire. I want to live to be 100 years old so I have plenty of time to spend with my grandchildren as they grow. I will stay in contact with your posts and maybe we can supply a little positive stuff to each other as we move forward in this journey. Billy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

