#TBT to a Healthier Me

DSCF7954EDIT

This was me, three years ago. At that point, I was maintaining a weight between 175-180 lbs, and had been for 5 or 6 months. I realize it was nothing spectacular – I mean, I was still considered “overweight” at that point – but this was the least I’ve weighed and the best I’ve ever felt in my adult life. I was not afraid to take my shirt off at the beach for the first time ever, which was a milestone in and of itself.

I had worked hard for it, too. I loved seeing consistent results. I was exercising nearly every day (even if it meant running on the treadmill at 1:00 in the morning), and I was being reasonably careful about what I was eating. But then, the holiday season came, and I never really recovered from it, and I slowly gained all the weight back and stopped working out altogether. Since then, I’ve had brief flashes of inspiration, where I would exercise for a few days in a row, or eat better for a week or so, but I would always give up much too easily.

So here we are. I know I need to stop dwelling on the past. But hopefully, this photo will inspire and motivate me. I know I can do it, because I’ve done it before. And this time, I want to reach and surpass what I had achieved before.

I know it has only been a week since I’ve hit restart on this journey for the umpteenth time, and I have a long way to go, but it already feels different this time around. This is a critical point where I would normally give up again, but posting here, following along with the journeys of others, and receiving encouragement from all of you has really been good for me so far, and I hope it continues for a long, long time.

 

(Also, I really loved those orange Bonobos swimming trunks, haha…Last time I tried to wear them, I had to force the snap shut. It was’t pretty. Just one more thing to motivate me, I guess!)

3 thoughts on “#TBT to a Healthier Me

  1. “the holiday season came, and I never really recovered from it”
    In my case it was “university life hit me hard and I never recovered from it” ahahaahah!!
    I also just “restarted” my journey back to my healthier and fit self and also using wordpress as my platform to track my progress and share it to others. I’m really happy to find others who are, more or less, on the same journey. 🙂 🙂
    More power! I know you can do it!!!

    – Lara
    http://www.fitquestx2.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

