Okay, so here’s the plan…

PlanFailQuote

In a recent post, I said that I needed my goals to be more specific, and that I needed a better plan in order to reach them. I’m still figuring things out and thinking things through, and I feel like I don’t really know what I’m doing, but here’s what I’ve come up with so far…

First, here are my broad, “big picture” goals:
1. Lose weight
2. Get stronger
3. Feel better

My goal weight, as stated before, is 175 pounds. I’ve decided to break that down into a series of smaller goals. So, I’d like to lose 5 pounds per month until I reach that goal. I weighed-in at 203 pounds yesterday, August 1st. That means I have 28 pounds to lose, and it breaks down to roughly 1.2 pounds per week. Here’s what this series of smaller targets looks like:

September 1: 198 lbs
October 1: 193 lbs
November 1: 188 lbs
December 1: 183 lbs
January 1: 178 lbs
January 20: 175 lbs

From my previous experience, I feel like a little over a pound a week should be very attainable. I may have to adjust these goals as I go, which would be great, but we’ll start here. Also, all of the fall/winter holidays fall in the midst of this schedule, which scares me a bit. It will definitely test my dedication and will power, if nothing else.

As far as working out, my goal is to exercise at least five days per week. I’ve been aimlessly walking on the treadmill mostly, and that needs to change. Here’s a basic schedule of what type of workouts I’m planning on getting in each week:

Day 1: Shoulders + Arms
Day 2: Abs/Core
Day 3: Legs
Day 4: Chest + Back
Day 5: “Full Body”

I’ll try this for a few weeks and see how it works. At this point, I’ll be using bodyweight and resistance band workouts. I’ll try to go for a walk or jog whenever possible, as well.

I realize that my diet is a huge part of this. I need to start by simply making better choices and logging my food, and go from there.

Well, that’s what I’ve got at this point. Thanks again for all the support and encouragement. Suggestions are always welcome. Time to get started!

 

[Image found here.]

Leave a Reply

