Daily Log – November 3, 2016

WORKOUT:
-Treadmill: 2 miles in 23:19

WEIGH-IN: 206.2 lbs

 

I’m definitely pleased with that run – 10 seconds better than the last time! Not so much with the weigh-in, however. I know that my diet needs some work, obviously. A major culprit lately has been that I’ve been “drinking my calories” a bit too much.

Now, let me clarify: I do NOT drink alcohol – I’ve never touched it and never will. I don’t even really like soda, and haven’t had any in a very long time. My weakness is sugary, coffee-based drinks. We’re coming out of a particularly brutal Pumpkin Spice Latte season, and we’re already headlong into Peppermint Mocha territory. So yeah…I need to work on making better choices. I really enjoy a good cup of black coffee, as well – need to go for that more often. 🙂

16 thoughts on “Daily Log – November 3, 2016

  1. I am in the same boat man when it comes to coffee. My wife always makes fun of me and my Lattes. I have been using the new Silk Almond Hazelnut Creamer. It’s only 15 calories per serving. It took me a couple days to dial it back from the other creamers we use but now I can’t use the heavier ones. I use the pumpkin spice as a real treat. Actually had my first one yesterday to celebrate 100 days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t been on a bike since like, 6th grade, haha. I was never very good at it, and it was always more frustrating than enjoyable. If someone like me were to want to start riding, though, how would you recommend they start?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, now… this would depend on what kind of guy you are! If you’re looking to play in the dirt or are on a tight budget, I’d recommend you start on a mountain bike. A mountain bike will take you ANYWHERE. If, however, you like speed lots of social time with friends and spending lots of money on toys, then you’d start with a road bike. If you want to split the difference, spend a couple hundred dollars more than the mtb and go for a cyclocross bike (road bike set up, disc brakes and knobby tires – great for gravel roads). Buy a pair of shoes, some pedals, a helmet and a couple pairs of shorts and you ride! Four or five miles at first, three days a week. Then you start building up. More miles, add a day, more miles, add another day… you get the picture. Once you get used to the bike, you find a local club and find you some friends to ride with. From there, kiss your big ass goodbye because you’ll lose weight fast enough it’ll scare you. It did me, and I was already running fit when I started riding. Dropped 20 pounds like it was nothing. My wife actually asked me to put some weight on my skinny butt.

        Liked by 1 person

      • No, you’re not wrong… Kind of. Right now is the BEST time to buy a new bike. Bike shops want to sell bikes and they’re slow right now. Start looking for sales at your local shop. Decide which of the three you want and let me know what you’re thinking… I’ll help you through the process so you don’t have to do all of the trial and error I did.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. HI! Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my post on the 80 year old reshaping views of aging in China. You need to separate yourself from those fountain coffee drinks, man. They are calorie bombs. You don’t need them or their sugar. Coffee is a beautiful drink. Enjoy that. Good luck with your challenge. I feel strongly that if you work on living healthy, you won’t have to worry about your weight. The pounds will melt off. That’s what happened to me when I started doing my blog. Check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

