Goals for 2017

2017goals

In some ways, 2016 was a great year for me. In many ways, however, it was a disappointment. Or, more accurately, many of the choices I made led to disappointment.

At the beginning of each new year, like many people, I try to set some goals for the next 365 days. Nearly all of the goals I set for 2016 were left unmet. In each area of my life that I made goals, I seemed to either stay stagnant, or move in a negative direction. I am determined that 2017 will be different. Here’s a look at some of the goals I’m making for this year. (I apologize in advance if I repeat some things from prior posts.)

This blog is all about my quest to lose weight and be more healthy. In all honesty, I feel like I failed miserably at this in the past year. I weighed-in last January 1st at approximately 204 pounds. When I weighed myself yesterday, as pictured above, I was up to 2011.4 pounds. That’s a net gain of 7 pounds for the year. Unacceptable. Although I did have periods of consistent exercise which resulted in a few pounds lost, I always slipped back into old habits and gained it all back – plus some.

So obviously, one of my goals is to lose weight. If you’ve been reading this blog since the beginning, you know that my goal weight has always been 175, and that remains. I know that in order to do that, I need to eat smarter and exercise consistently. I know what it takes, because I’ve done it before. I just need to make myself do these things consistently.

Besides losing weight, I really need to get stronger. It has become painfully obvious lately how physically weak I’ve become, and that needs to change. Overall, I really just want to feel and look better. I’m tired of what I’ve allowed myself to become.

Another fitness-related goal that I’ve had for awhile is to run a “real” 5-k race. I think this might be the year.

Fitness and weight loss is just one aspect of my life and goals. My spiritual life is very important to me, but it is something that has suffered this past year. I need to make a point to spend time in prayer and studying Scripture each day. I’ve also been convicted of my selfishness lately, and I need to be doing more for others.

Time management has always been an issue for me. If I learn to manage my time more effectively, I know some of these other problem areas will fall into place more readily. Along those lines, I spend WAY too much time on social media. I’ve committed to a complete break from social media for this week, at least, and we’ll see where it goes from there.

I would also like to spend more time reading. Looking back, I realized that I did not read a single book the whole way through in 2016. I used to love to read, and I need to make that a priority again. I would also like to devote more time to creative endeavors – writing, photography, graphic design, etc.

The last thing on the graphic above may be a little foolish, but that’s my “ultimate goal body.” I know that it would take more work and dedication than I’ve ever put into anything before, and even then, it’s not a goal that will come to fruition in 2017, obviously. And I know that I need to be focused more on feeling good and making healthy choices rather than on what I look like. However, I’m realizing more and more how I’ve held myself back in life because I’ve been afraid of failure. So often, I’ve had big dreams, but I’ve been too afraid to chase them, or even tell anyone about them. I’m hoping this year will be the beginning of the end of holding myself back.

So, here’s to 2017. Enough talk – I’m off to my first workout of the year right now…

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2017

  1. Fear has a lot to do with how we live, there’s no doubt, but the simple fact is, you have to work out like a madman AND push yourself away from the table. I can see fear being a part of the former but not the latter. You’re going to have to get used to being hungry if you’re going to lose weight.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

